Legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay has broken into Sri Lanka’s Test squad for the upcoming series against Australia on the back of his performances in the ODIs. Having missed the Bangladesh Tests through injury, opener Pathum Nissanka also returns to the Test fold, and is expected to slot back into the starting XI.

Allrounders Kamindu Mendis and Chamika Karunaratne have also been retained, having been with the Test side in Bangladesh. There are no major omissions. Uncapped players Kamil Mishara, and Suminda Lakshan, who had both been in the squad for the previous series, are the ones who make way for Vandersay and Nissanka.

Vandersay has never played a Test, but is an experienced hand in first-class cricket, with 233 wickets at that level, at an average of 26.92. He took five wickets across four matches in the ODI series just-concluded.

The squad announced by Sri Lanka will consist of these players :

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt.), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Jeffrey Vandersay

Also Read  Rajitha, Kumara, Asitha help Sri Lanka grab advantage after day two