Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, MNA of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), has taken oath as Speaker of National Assembly.

Presiding Officer Sardar Ayaz Sadiq administered the oath to him.

He was elected unopposed as Speaker National Assembly after no other candidate filed nomination papers for the seat.

In his opening remarks after taking oath, Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf thanked all the parliamentary leaders and members of the lower house for expressing confidence in him. He said he will act in an impartial manner.

Taking the floor, Prime Minister Shehbaz felicitated Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on assuming the office of speaker.

He was confident that Raja Pervaiz Ashraf would take the whole house along and discharge his responsibilities to the best of his abilities as per the law and constitution.

Felicitating Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari expressed the confidence that the new speaker will uphold the constitution and ensure the sanctity of the chair.

Other members of the house also extended felicitation to the new Speaker.

The house has now been adjourned to meet on Monday at 12:00 Noon.

Also Read  No dialogue will be held with terrorist outfits: NA informed