The 6th AFIGP Annual Conference was held at National Police Academy Islamabad on
14th May, 2022 under the auspices of Association of Former Inspectors General of Police (AFIGP).
The conference was set on the theme of “Reform through Technology Oriented Policing TOP” and
was chaired by the President AFIGP Mr. Iftikhar Rashid and Mr. Dil Jan Khan. .

The conference dilated upon the rampant global technological advancement and its specific impacts
on policing in Pakistan. To conform with emerging phenomenon, almost all police organizations
have realigned themselves with integration of technology & digitalization. Focus of the conference
was to evaluate different initiatives, proposals and developments primarily in the area of technology
oriented policing and to solicit inputs for consideration of police leadership and policy makers. The
conference was followed by AFIGP Executive Committee Elections.

AFIGP stated to have firm belief that the prevalent law & order situation and terrorist activities in
the country could be regulated through vigorous & enhanced Technology Oriented Policing TOP
capabilities of Law Enforcement Agencies (LEAs). It has also been felt that internal functioning
capabilities of police as an institution is directly proportionate to the technological based backup up
support. Enhancing such Technology Oriented Policing TOP not only aids in following best
practices but helps devise an explicit road map to deal with emerging challenges faced by police.

Taking the foregoing into consideration, the AFIGP invited experts for sharing their knowledge &
ideas on the subject for policy guidelines for various stakeholders.

In the beginning, General Secretary of AFIGP Mr. Kamal Uddin Tipu presented comprehensive
progress and activities report of AFIGP. While sharing activity report, General Secretary AFIGP,
stated that “Reform through Technology Oriented Policing TOP” is not only for knowledge but for
assimilating such practices in our police working and processes. The Commandant National Police
Academy congratulated AFIGP for holding such a successful conference on very contemporary and
relevant issue.

Mr. Akbar Nasir Khan gave introductory briefing on Technology Oriented Policing TOP which
was followed by presentation on Role of Technology in Urban Policing; Safe City Projects
Punjab Police by Mr. Asim Jasra, SP. Mr. Arfan ul Haq from NPB gave a presentation on Development of Platform for Sharing of Crime Statistics and Integration of Criminal
Database. He urged to work on joint platform for creating and sharing digitized data of the criminals
and crime among all the law enforcement agencies.

Ms. Amna Baig, SP presented IT-Based interventions in ICT Police in detail to the participants of
the conference. Mr. Ashraf Zubair Siddique, ADG Immigration FIA shared practices of IT in
Federal Investigation Agency: Present and Future. Technology on the Highways: Today &
Tomorrow was presented by Mr. Shabih Hussain, SSP from Motorways Police. Mr. Saqib Sultan Al
Mehmood, Director NPB shared a report on Police Reforms Committee Recommendations:
Implementation Status. Mr. Saud Mirza, former IGP briefed on Police Icon – Mr. Sharif Khan
IGP West Pakistan.

The AFIGP also held its General Body meeting and Annual Elections of the Executive Committee.
The following Executive Committee and office bearer were elected unanimously by the General
Body AFIGP: Afzal Ali Shigri, President; Shahid Nadeem Baloch,Vice President, Dr. Syed Kaleem
Imam, General Secretary. Whereas, Executive Committee Members: Kamal Uddin Tipu, Dr. Mujeeb
ur Rehman Khan, Dr. Naeem Khan and Tariq Masoon Yasin.
The General Body approved the Budget and passed two resolutions. The General Body resolved
thanking the previous office holders AFIGP for successful completion of their tenure. The General
Body also resolved to encourage national approaches to technology investment establishing future
capability requirement and realizing shared benefits of innovative, reliable, secure and upto date

The following retired IsGP participated in the Conference, Abdul Aleem Jafri, Ahmad Naseem,
Ahmad Latif, Akhtar Hassan Gorchani, Asad Jehangir Khan, Asif Ali Shah, Azhar Ali Farouqi, Syed
Muhammad Abid Qadri, Muhammad Yaqoob, Dil Jan Khan, Dr. Ghulam Sarwar Jamali, Dr. Mujeeb
ur Rehman Khan, Dr. Syed Kaleem Imaam, Ghalib Ali Bandesha, Ghulam Qadir Thebo, Iftikhar
Rashid, Khawaja Khalid Farooq, Sharif Virk, Habibullah Niazi, Malik Naveed Khan, Mr. Mazhar
Ali Shaikh, Mian Muhammad Amin, Mir Zubair Mehmood, Mirza Saud Ahmed, Muhammad Saeed
Khan, Muhammad Azam Joya, Muhammad Habib Khan, Khalid Qureshi, Muhammad Manzoor,
Muhammad Rafiq Haider, Muhammad Rafiq Hassan, Nasim uz Zaman, Qudratullah Khan Marwat,
Saud Gohar, Shabbir Shaikh, Shoukat Javed, Shoaib Dastagir, Shoukat Hayat, Sultan Azam Temuri,
Syed Kamal Shah, Tariq Khosa, Tariq Masood Yasin, Tariq Pervez and Zafarullah Khan.

Also Read  PM for effective strategy to reduce of Energy sector's circular debt